TTC ACAT elects new Chair and Vice Chairs

At an election on Jan. 13, the TTC’s Advisory Committee on Accessible Transit (ACAT), elected Jonathan Marriott as its 2022 Chair. Debbie Gillespie and Anita Dressler were elected to serve as the 2022 Vice Chairs.

“The TTC’s Advisory Committee on Accessible Transit plays a vital role in ensuring that we are providing an accessible and safe transit system for all of our residents," said Mayor John Tory. "Congratulations to the new Chair and Vice Chairs. I look forward to working with you and the TTC to keep building up our transit system and continuing to improve accessibility on our transit system."

“I want to extend congratulations to Jonathan, Debbie and Anita on their new roles on the ACAT Executive Committee. Accessibility is a key priority at the TTC and we are grateful for the role that ACAT plays in making sure our transit system is fully accessible, AODA compliant and user-friendly for all our customers,” said TTC Chair Jaye Robinson.

“Congratulations to the new Chair and Vice Chairs on their appointment,” said TTC CEO Rick Leary. “Our shared goal is achieving a transit system that is fully accessible and user-friendly for everyone. I am grateful for the recommendations that ACAT has provided over the years, and look forward to collaborating with the new ACAT Executive Committee.”

I want to thank the ACAT members for placing their trust in me as the position of Chair. It is truly an honour to serve on a Board with such outstanding members. In collaboration with the ACAT members and the ACAT Executive Committee, I look forward to continuing this important work and ensuring we go beyond minimum standards and deliver meaningful accessibility for all community members using the TTC,” said ACAT Chair Jonathan Marriott.

Jonathan is an accessibility professional who specializes in access to the built environment, the AODA and the Rick Hansen Foundation’s Accessibility Certification. Debbie is currently the coordinator of Accessibility and Braille Promotion at the CNIB and a member of the City of Toronto Accessible Elections Technology Working Group. Anita is a community leader with over 60 years of volunteer experience, with a focus on persons with disabilities and seniors in accessible transportation, housing and health.

ACAT is made up of volunteers who provide the TTC with advice and recommendations on matters pertaining to accessible public transit in the City of Toronto. These include removing barriers to accessibility and improving the customer experience for persons with disabilities and seniors.

The ACAT Executive Committee is comprised of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs, who are elected at the beginning of every year. The Chair represents ACAT at TTC Board Meetings and at public functions.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.