Line 1 extension opening brings TTC service changes

With the Line 1 Yonge-University extension into York Region opening this Sunday morning, the TTC is reminding customers about numerous improvements and changes to services along the line.

Starting at 8 a .m. on Sun., Dec. 17, customers will see new bus routing, additional parking and more connections to transit services outside the city of Toronto. There is no additional fare required to ride the subway north of Steeles, outside Toronto city limits. Additional fares only apply when changing between the TTC and other transit agencies.

The opening of the Line 1 extension also marks the introduction of a new Customer Service Agent role, replacing traditional collector booths at the six new stations. Customer Service Agents will roll out over the next year across the TTC.

Customers using the new stations can pay by tapping a PRESTO card or with a Metropass, tickets, tokens and cash. Tickets, tokens and Metropasses will not be sold at these stations. Exact change cash payments will also be accepted. Customers can buy and load a PRESTO card at each station.

The extension adds approximately 13 minutes to the full ride time on Line 1 from Finch to Vaughan Metropolitan Centre for a total ride time of 79 minutes. On weekday morning and afternoon rush hours, trains will run approximately every two and a half minutes increasing to just under four minutes during the day and in the early evening. During the day on Saturdays, trains will run every three to four minutes. Monday to Saturday nights and on Sundays, trains will run approximately every five minutes.

Weekday mornings between 8 and 9:30 a.m., every second northbound train will continue to turn back at Glencairn Station.

The 8.6 kilometre Line 1 extension features a state-of-the-art signalling system and six, modern, bright, fully accessible stations all equipped with Wi-Fi, cell, the TTC's new fare gates with PRESTO and dedicated bicycle parking.

  • Downsview Park Station is located at 80 Carl Hall Rd. and is both a TTC and GO Transit rail station. GO trains will service this station beginning Sat., Dec. 30. TTC buses will continue to serve Sheppard Ave. W., with pedestrian access to the station from the west entrance at Vitti St./Bakersfield St.
  • Finch West Station is located at 3950 Keele St. and features a six-bay bus terminal and passenger pick-up and drop-off. Connecting TTC routes at this station include 36 Finch West, 41 Keele (on-street connection on Keele St.), 107 St Regis (formerly 107 Keele North with an on-street connection on Keele St.), 199B Finch Rocket and Wheel-Trans.
  • York University Station is located at 120 Ian Macdonald Blvd. with two entrances to the north and south side of the Harry W. Arthurs Common. Most of the existing TTC bus service through the Common will be relocated to bus terminals at Finch West and Pioneer Village stations. The 196 York University Rocket route will no longer operate. The nearest TTC bus service to York University will be the 41 Keele, which will operate through campus to Pioneer Village Station. The campus will also be served by the 106 Sentinel route and Wheel-Trans. GO Transit, YRT, Viva and Brampton Zum services continue as usual.
  • Pioneer Village Station is located at 185 Northwest Gate (south entrance) and 2800 Steeles Ave. W. (north entrance).  The station features a 12-bay TTC bus terminal and a five-bay YRT/Viva bus terminal. Connecting TTC bus routes are 35 Jane, 41 Keele, 60 Steeles West, 84D Sheppard West, 106 Sentinel (formerly 106 York University), 107 St Regis (formerly 107 Keele North), 108 Driftwood (formerly 108 Downsview), 195 Jane Rocket, Wheel-Trans and YRT Mobility Plus.
  • Highway 407 Station is located at 7332 Jane St and station features an 18-bay accessible bus terminal for GO and YRT buses and a future connection to the 407 Transitway. For connections to GO Transit bus routes please and YRT/Viva bus routes YRT Mobility Plus will service this station.
  • Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Station is located at 3150 Highway 7. The station features a concourse connection to Viva and YRT buses. Customers will also be able to connect to on-street passenger pick-up and drop-off locations. For connections to YRT/Viva bus routes please visit for more information.  YRT Mobility Plus will service this station.

All changes to TTC services take effect at 8 a.m. on Dec. 17. Customers using other transit agencies should consult that agency's website for route, schedule and fare information.

Parking on the Line 1 extension will be provided by the TTC at Finch West Station (347 spaces), Pioneer Village Station (1,881 spaces) and Highway 407 Station (583 spaces). Parking will be free at those TTC parking lots until April.

The Line 1 extension is jointly funded by the government of Canada, province of Ontario, the City of Toronto and the Regional Municipality of York.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.