ACAT Meeting - June 24, 2010

Meeting Info

Date:Thursday, June 24, 2010
Location:1900 Yonge Street, 7th Floor Boardroom
Meeting No:229
  • Agenda
  • Meeting Minutes

Agenda is not available for this meeting.
Please check the meeting minutes for meeting details.

Agenda is not available for this meeting.
Please check the meeting minutes for meeting details.

Agenda is not available for this meeting.
Please check the meeting minutes for meeting details.

Agenda is not available for this meeting.
Please check the meeting minutes for meeting details.


  • Susan Davidson (Chair)
  • Mazin Aribi
  • Bill Castor
  • Adam Cohoon
  • Heather Green
  • Angela Marley
  • Garnett Martin
  • Scott McArthur
  • Marian McDonell
  • Carol Anne Monet
  • Robert Muzzy
  • Anna Noviss
  • Craig Nicol
  • Angela Rebeiro
  • Sam Savona

ACAT Alternatives

  • Dorothy Creaser (ACAT Pool)

TTC Representatives

  • Bill Frost
  • Donna Bryant
  • Evelyn Gartner
  • Glenn Johnston 
  • Janet O’Sullivan




  • Gary Webster
  • Al Chocorlan
  • Rick Cornacchia
  • Dave Dixon
  • Vince Rodo
  • John Sepulis
  • Mitch Stambler
  • TTC Commissioners

1. Call to Order / Attendance

Susan Davidson, Chair, called the meeting to order at approximately 1:05 p.m. Roll call was taken.

2. Declaration of Conflict of Interest


3. Approval of Agenda

On motion of Bill Castor, ACAT approved the agenda.

4. Review and Approval of May 27, 2010 Minutes

On motion of Angela Marley, ACAT approved the minutes of May 27, 2010 with changes.

5. Presentation – PRESTO

David Smith representing the PRESTO Project gave a presentation on the new PRESTO smartcard-based centralized fare payment system for public transit in the GTA.

6. Business Arising Out of Minutes/Outstanding Items

Craig Nicol requested the Station Layout Pages to be included in the “Outstanding List” to be discussed at the August meeting. He also requested that additional elevators at new subway and light rail transit (LRT) stations be included in the Outstanding List to be discussed at the September meeting.

Bill Frost led a discussion on the distributed “Recording Minutes at ACAT Meetings” to be implemented for ACAT General and Subcommittee meetings and asked that members submit their comments by July 8, 2010.

7. Deputation


8. Subcommittee Reports

Design Review Subcommittee

Craig Nicol (Chair) updated the members regarding the June 7, 2010 Design Review Subcommittee meeting on the Yonge/University/Spadina Expansion. They reviewed plans for Sheppard West Station which is an interchange station with GO Transit. The Subcommittee discussed with TTC staff their recommendations which included additional elevators in stations, consistency in contrasting edging for TTC and GO Transit platforms, walking distances, lighting, bus shelters, and stair nosing contrast. They also reviewed plans for the Highway 407 Station which will be an interchange station with GO Transit, Viva, and YRT. They noted a concern with parking distances, brightness of large glassed areas, and the number of accessible parking spots. The ratio is currently 14/100.

On June 21, 2010, Craig Nicol, Anna Noviss, and Bill Castor accompanied Glenn Johnston and Kevin Seto to Thunder Bay to review, make recommendations, and report on the legacy light rail vehicles (LRV’s) to replace existing non-accessible streetcars.
In July, the Subcommittee will hold meetings to review the station design for two more Toronto-York Spadina Subway Extension project (TYSSE) stations and members will also be reviewing the first phase (visual component) of the Next Vehicle Arrival System (NVAS) with LCD monitor/LED screen real-time displays of next bus or streetcars arriving at Broadview Station.

Service Planning Subcommittee

Anna Noviss (Chair) updated the members on the Service Planning Subcommittee activities including draft guidelines for Bus Recertification Training for TTC vehicle operators to be used as a reference by ACAT and members of the community. These were circulated in advance of the meeting planned for July.

Communications Subcommittee

Heather Green (Chair) reported on the June 3, 2010 meeting, which included an update on vehicle destination signs by Carla Basso from Marketing. This vehicle messaging system is part of the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) and, is therefore, unlikely to change, regardless of special event promotional requests. The vehicle destination signs will only display route number, route name, and destination.

Mazin Aribi suggested that educational material be developed to promote accessible TTC informing the general public of policies (e.g. mobility devices will be loaded first on buses).

It was requested that the CommunityLINK remind customers to have their fare ready for the driver.

Members requested a Wheel-Trans hierarchical organization chart which Evelyn Gartner will circulate to the subcommittee.

Wheel-Trans Operations Subcommittee

Angela Marley (Chair) reported that the subcommittee had not met that month.

9. Commission Reports

Marian McDonell (Vice Chair) informed the members that, at the May 6, 2010 Meeting, the Commission approved the 42 subway station managers to oversee the operation of the station. Due to a higher than budgeted ridership, budgeted service cuts will not be implemented in September, 2010.

At the June 6, 2010 Commission Meeting, the Woodbine Subway Station concept was presented. Public consultation will begin on June 29, 2010 and construction is scheduled for 2011.

10. People in Motion – June 4 and 5, 2010

Evelyn Gartner told the members the TTC received a lot of positive response from participants. She asked that members forward any comments to her or Dean Milton.  Members asked that, due to the success of the flashing armbands, they be made available for next year’s show. 

Bill Frost was asked that the ramp be modified for access to the accessible conventional bus. He was asked that the ramp be modified for next year so it replicates an accessible bus stop on the street, but he noted that there may be technical difficulties. 

A commendation was made to staff at the location that assisted with organizing customer pick-ups and drop-offs at the show.

A report on the People in Motion Show, developed by Marketing, will be requested for members by Evelyn Gartner. A suggestion was made to combine the TTC and Wheel-Trans booths next year to promote integrated TTC services.

11. TTC Public Forum Discussion

Glenn Johnston will again summarize and report on the comments received as a result of the Forum. He was informed that the Monitor received very positive feedback this year. 

The approximate 335 participants in 2010 were a significant increase over last year. 

The Commission approved a recommendation to make the Forum an annual event and had previously indicated that staff is to seek ACAT advice on accessibility matters.  

On motion of Sam Savona, the members unanimously recommended that ACAT take a leading role in the organization of the public forum each year.
Members congratulated Wheel-Trans for the smooth pick-up/drop-off process at the event.

12. Other/New Business

Susan Davidson congratulated Adam Cohoon on receiving the Service Ontario Five-Year Pin award from the Province of Ontario for his volunteer work at the Anne Johnston Health Station.

Angela Marley distributed a brochure “A Way with Words and Images – Suggestions for the Portrayal of People with Disabilities” and asked if more copies would be required for further distribution. It was suggested that the TTC order copies for use.

13. Next Meeting

The next meeting of ACAT will be held on Thursday, July 29 2010, in the 7th Floor Boardroom, 1900 Yonge Street.

14. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:30 p.m.

Janet O’Sullivan
For Secretary

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.