Editorial Archive

Royal York becomes TTC’s 46th accessible station

Royal York Station elevators 1/17/20 12:14 PM

Royal York became the TTC’s 46th accessible station and the 17th with elevators on Line 2 Bloor-Danforth.

The station’s three elevators entered service on December 16, 2019. The elevators connect the street to the concourse and subway platforms levels. The TTC now has a total of 46 out of 75 stations that are accessible.

Elevator construction continues at the following stations: Dupont, Yorkdale, Wellesley, Wilson, Runnymede, Chester, Sherbourne, Bay, Keele and Lansdowne.

In 2020, construction is scheduled to start at Donlands and College stations.

The TTC’s Easier Access Phase III Project will make all the remaining subway stations accessible by 2025.

Here’s a list of subway stations equipped with elevators that make travel easier for people using wheelchairs, scooters, walkers, other mobility devices or baby strollers:
Line 1 Yonge-University: Vaughan Metropolitan Centre, Highway 407, Pioneer Village, York University, Finch West, Downsview Park, Sheppard West, Lawrence West, Eglinton West, St Clair West, St George, Queen’s Park, St Patrick, Osgoode, St Andrew, Union, Queen, Dundas, Bloor-Yonge, St Clair, Davisville, Eglinton, York Mills, Sheppard-Yonge, North York Centre, Finch.
Line 2 Bloor-Danforth: Kipling, Royal York, Jane, Dundas West, Dufferin, Ossington, Bathurst, Spadina, St George, Bloor-Yonge, Broadview, Pape, Coxwell, Woodbine, Main Street, Victoria Park, Kennedy.
Line 3 Scarborough: Kennedy, Scarborough Centre.
Line 4 Sheppard: Sheppard-Yonge, Bayview, Bessarion, Leslie, Don Mills.
Note: Subway interchanges counted once.

For information on the status of elevators, please call the Elevator Service Status Line at 416-539-LIFT (5438).

Latest News

 New Corporate Plan cover

TTC Corporate Plan 2018-2022

Advancing to the next level.

Corporate Notice

COVID-19 update: positive test at Eglinton Division.

In Memoriam

Evans, Legere.