TTC Board starts new term

In its first meeting of the new, four-year term, the elected City Councillors appointed to the TTC Board were sworn-in on Dec. 9. New TTC Chair Josh Colle leads the 11-member Board joined by Councillors: John Campbell (Ward 4 Etobicoke Centre), Shelley Carroll (Ward 33 Don Valley east), Vincent Crisanti (Ward 1 Etobicoke North), Glenn De Baeremaeker (Ward 38 Scarborough Centre), Joe Mihevc (Ward 21 St. Paul’s) and Denzil Minnan-Wong (Ward 34 Don Valley East and Deputy Mayor).

The seven appointed Councillors joined the four current citizen Commissioners: Maureen Adamson (TTC Vice-Chair), Nick Di Donato, Alan Heisey Q.C. and Anju Virmani.

TTC Aduit Committee appointees

The Board appointed the following members to the TTC Audit Committee: Maureen Adamson, Vincent Crisanti, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Nick Di Donato and Alan Heisey Q.C. (Chair).

The Road to Modernization

The new TTC Board received a presentation from CEO Andy Byford entitled, The Road to Modernization. The presentation outlined the TTC’s five-year mission to modernize the TTC from top to bottom, provided a progress report on actions taken on the Corporate Plan’s seven strategic objectives, and gave a summary of the organization’s five mega-projects:

  • Toronto-York Spadina Subway Extension.
  • Automatic Train Control/Re-signalling of Line 1 (Yonge-University).
  • PRESTO implementation.
  • New streetcar rollout/Leslie Barns.
  • Employee engagement and culture change in the workplace.

New members named to ACAT

The Board named five new members to the Advisory Committee on Accessible Transit (ACAT): Margaret Hageman, Nicole Cormier, Joan Jordan, Valdo Tammark and Howard Wax. They begin their three-year terms on Jan. 1, 2015.

Commissioners thanked outgoing members: William Castor, Debbie Gillespie, Angela Marley, Lynn McCormick and Sarah Adams.

ACAT is comprised of Toronto citizens who advise members of the TTC on difficulties faced by people with disabilities and seniors, and recommends the elimination of barriers to accessible public transit.

TTC Board meeting schedule for 2015

Commissioners approved the 2015 schedule of Board meetings at Toronto City Hall as follows (held at 1 p.m. unless otherwise indicated): Wednesday, January 21; Wednesday, February 25; Thursday, March 26; Wednesday, April 15 (Special Board Strategy); Wednesday, April 29; Wednesday, May 27; Monday, June 22; Wednesday, July 29; Monday, September 28; Wednesday, October 28; Monday, November 23; and Wednesday, December 16. The Board requested TTC staff to investigate the possibility of holding one meeting in Etobicoke, Scarborough and North York.